Mushroom Arugula Pizza

I didn’t get really turned on to arugula until this summer and now I can’t keep my grubby little hands off it! I continue to look for ways to incorporate this peppery green into my recipes. Each time I do, I am never disappointed!  This elegant  meal is sure to impress with it’s simplicity and nutrition profile.  The few ingredients  includes a store bought crust (yes, I said it)  makes this even a killer weekday meal!

(A Managed Meal is a Nutritious Meal!)

MUSHROOM ARUGULA PIZZA 

Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza crust 

2-3 T Olive oil 

2 T Cornmeal 

Mushrooms (you pick! I used white button but a blend would be primo)

Arugula (again, Trader Joe’s has an excellent value)

3/4 c. parmesan reggiano

Fresh thyme, salt, cracked pepper  

Preheat oven to packaged crust directions. On pizza stone, or cooking sheet, brush with olive oil and sprinkle with the cornmeal. Roll dough to desired thickness. Brush crust with olive oil, season with cracked pepper and salt. Add mushroom and thyme.( I did not give measurements for these, use thyme generously!). Sprinkle with 1/2 c of the cheese, reserving 1/4. cup for later.  Bake according to directions. Remove from oven. Top with arugula, sprinkle with remaining cheese and cracked pepper. Drizzle olive oil on top before serving. 

fresh thyme

fresh thyme. a perfect give from a friends garden. Look below. Can you see who came to take a nap on the ‘set?’ Stan!!!

Drizzle with olive oil before serving and pour yourself a glass of wine!

Do you use Trader Joe’s pizza crust? (I highly recommend it!! ) What are the most unique ingredients you have had on a pizza? 

 

Pin It

11 thoughts on “Mushroom Arugula Pizza

  1. Yum! I love the combination of mushroom and rocket! My favorite pizza recipe is a prosciutto, bocconcini and rocket topping – not really unique ingredients, but I love it!

  2. This looks incredible! And I am ashamed to admit that I have never had arugula – I now feel I need to seek it out as a matter of urgency 🙂

  3. Yum! Simple and delicious-my kind of pizza! The first time I remember having arugula was in Switzerland, where it was very common and called rocket. I love it’s peppery bite & imagine it’s quite delicious on top of a pizza. I’m getting ready to make a Thai Chicken Pizza…recipe coming soon 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

