Coconut French Toast with Griddled Mango

Making a sweet (vs a savory) breakfast for me is a rarity. I’m talking once a year (pumpkin pancakes at the holiday time, maybe) and a second time for ‘funsie.’ Well, this was the funsie of the year! My fellow RD, Lizzie came across this incredible recipe and we demo’d it for a cooking segment at the hospital.  It was a true hit but how could it not be with this unique blend of ingredients?  I had to make it for Brian just to show off this recipe.

Coconut French Toast with Griddled Mango

adapted from BBC Food

For the French Toast

1/2 cup light coconut milk

1 cup raw, unsweetened coconut flakes

1 egg, beaten

2 Tbsp raw sugar

1 tsp pure vanilla

1/4 tsp cinnamon

2 slices baguette or other bread

2 tsp vegetable oil

1 tbsp butter 

For the griddled mango

1 tsp brown sugar

1 mango, peeled, stone removed and sliced

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

1 Tbsp honey

Preheat oven to 175. Blend the coconut milk, egg, vanilla and cinnamon in mixing bowl. Place coconut flakes on plate. Dip bread into egg mixture,coating on both sides then coat in coconut flakes (both sides) and place aside. Heat the vegetable oil and butter in a non-stick frying pan and fry the bread until golden brown on both sides. Transfer to oven to keep warm until serving. In same pan, add mango and  brown sugar, cooking until golden brown, 3-4 minutes. Add chili and honey and cook and additional 2-3 minutes.

Place french toast on plate, top with caramelized mango, drizzle with extra honey or sprinkle of pepper if desired.

If are are thinking of omitting the cayenne pepper, don’t! The subtle spice compliments the sweet of the honey and mango almost enhancing the sweetness of the dish. The exotic flavors in the meal is sure to impress any guest, I promise!

What is the best french toast you have ever had?  Do you prefer a sweet start to your day or a savory one?

8 thoughts on “Coconut French Toast with Griddled Mango

  1. This is definitely a fun breakfast! Wow – I would happily eat this dish at any time of day I think 🙂 I love the idea of the flavours and am also impressed by how pretty it looks.

  2. Mmm, Mmm, Mmm….good! I love some sort of cooked fruit with my pancakes or French toast and this looks delish-I’m sure my kids would think so too! I try to mix things up during the week, but I’m probably 60% savory and 40% sweet at breakfast (at least after I’ve had my coffee :-). Have a wonderful week!

  3. I see managedmacros.com is outranked by many competitors in google’s search results. You should use links pyramid strategy in order to rank your website. I outsource this time consuming task and focus on my content and have great results. You should try this too, for more info just search in google – Burol’s Tips Outsource The Work

Leave a Reply

